Today's leading bel canto tenor, and one of the world's biggest opera stars, celebrates this Christmas season with a very personal choice of sacred arias and songs, including favorites such as O Come All Ye Faithful, Panis Angelicus, Ave Maria and O Holy Night. 

As well as the glorious coloratura for which he is celebrated, the album also reveals the more intimate side of Juan Diego Flórez, in new interpretations of much-loved tenor classics for the festive season. These popular hits take their place alongside less familiar treasures including the "Qui sedes" from Bellini's Mass in A minor and the virtuosic "Alleluia" from Fux's Plaudite, sonat tuba - which call for the thrilling virtuosity that have made Juan Diego Flórez a star in the world's greatest opera houses. 

A highlight of the program is the title track Santo - composed by Juan Diego Flórez himself - and infused with the musical colors and rhythms of his Latin American roots. "My father was a folk-singer and I grew up with Peruvian music. My hobby is to compose and orchestrate, and the melody came to me very easily. The hard part is then to find the right instrumental colors and write for all the instruments and the chorus. But it's fun." 

Track List

1. Johann Joseph Fux

Alleluja (Plaudite, sonat tuba)

2. César Franck

Panis angelicus [arr. Alan Boustead]

3. Adolphe Charles Adam

Cantique de Noël (O Holy Night) [arr. Douglas Gamley]

4. Vincenzo Bellini

Qui sedes (Mass in A minor)

5. George Frideric Handel

“Comfort ye – Ev’ry valley” (Messiah)

6. Gioacchino Rossini

Domine Deus (Petite Messe solennelle)

7. Franz Schubert

Ave Maria [arr. Chris Hazell]

8. Gioacchino Rossini

Qui tollis (Messa di gloria)

9. Joseph Haydn

“Mit Würd’ und Hoheit angetan” (Die Schöpfung)

10. Ariel Ramírez

Kyrie (Misa criolla)

11. Gioacchino Rossini

Gratias agimus tibi (Messa di gloria)

12. John Francis Wade

Adeste fideles (O Come All Ye Faithful) [arr. Chris Hazell / David Willcocks]

13. Juan Diego Flórez